Dear Divorcée- Choose To Move Forward

Dear Divorcée,
Regardless of the situation that you have come out of, regardless of what you are going through, know that you alone are enough. You have within you, everything that you need to make it through your current situation. Even though at times your future may seem bleak, God is with you, He has a plan for you, and He has equipped you with everything that you need.
Along my first divorce journey, I didn’t know how I was going to make it when my first husband literally walked out when my oldest daughter was 16 months old. I was afraid, underemployed, and 8 hours away from my family. I was ridden with anxiety, headaches, and stomach aches. One day I was pulled over for a speeding ticket, which was a breaking point. I put my head on the steering wheel, and began to cry uncontrollably. I could feel myself losing control and wanting to cave in. I began to pray, then I took a deep breath and said out loud “I’m not going to let this take me out.” I made a decision at that moment to fight. The decision to fight all of the new challenges that I new were on the way. The decision to fight off the negative thoughts. The decision to be strong even when I really felt weak. I chose to move forward, when I really wanted to quit.
I just want you to know that moving forward is a choice. You will feel varying emotions, which is normal, but you can still chose your next step, your next path, your future life. Don’t stay stuck. You have within you everything that you need.
“Looking back isn’t going to help you. Moving forward is the thing you have to do.” -McKayla Maroney

-Andrea Stuckey

Leave a Reply

