Dear Divorcée-Seek Support 

Dear Divorcée,
Support was key in my divorce recovery. Oftentimes, I did not want to share the unfavorable things that I was going through with anyone. I felt ashamed and embarrassed. Everyone thought I had such a great marriage. 

There were many times when I needed a sounding board or someone to just listen to what I was going through on a particular day. My Mom and another close friend were there for me and all of my ramblings at that time. I am thankful that I had them in my life. I also found support in counseling and coaching.

I encourage you to be open to the support of others. It is common to want to go through your changes alone due to shame, guilt or embarrassment. Be open to seek support from trusted individuals. It may be just what you need to take you through a particular challenging moment or day. 
-Andrea Stuckey

Leave a Reply

